Corporate Governance

Raiffeisen Group structure

Raiffeisen banks

The 225 Raiffeisen banks with a total of 809 branches (excluding branches of Raiffeisen Switzerland) are legally and organisationally independent cooperatives which elect their own boards of directors and have an independent auditor. The banks’ strategic management is adapted to regional conditions. The Raiffeisen banks are owned by the cooperative members, which may be natural persons or legal entities. They elect the members of the Board of Directors of their bank at local General Meetings. If the bank has more than 500 members, the General Meeting may decide by a three-quarters majority of the votes cast to transfer its powers to a Delegate Meeting or to move to paper voting (secret ballot).

Resolutions and elections require an absolute majority of the votes, except where the law or Articles of Association provide otherwise. In the event of a tied vote, the matter is debated further and a second vote will be held. If this too is tied, the motion will be rejected. The General Assembly is called at least five days before the assembly day by the Board of Directors. The invitation including the agenda items must be issued personally and in writing. At the same time, the annual report has to be laid out in client rooms.

Raiffeisen by canton1

Number ofCHF million
CantonBanksBank branchesMembersLoans2Client monies3Total assetsCustody account
Aargau 2476203,56019,56219,69724,5583,629
Appenzell Ausserrhoden 2617,7851,6221,5111,920294
Appenzell Innerrhoden 149,120692748846150
Basel-Land 71959,5316,2845,6827,4891,304
Basel-Stadt 1201,1271,0841,421391
Berne 1881179,61914,68313,96517,5591,674
Fribourg 1048110,44711,5489,17913,3441,037
Geneva 51946,8144,7445,4266,3661,039
Glarus 127,521579574712151
Grisons 83760,9095,7025,6777,038854
Jura 52328,8763,3742,5973,987249
Lucerne 1645134,85310,74010,59013,1611,650
Neuchâtel 21429,0122,3171,9772,737296
Nidwalden 1921,7311,8151,9572,285430
Obwalden 1613,6949891,0581,256293
Schaffhausen 129,2189838731,183163
Solothurn 1448113,68910,43410,29012,6901,492
St.Gallen 2872203,84323,26320,93428,2134,733
Ticino 1760117,81014,00912,30817,2862,372
Uri 2516,6051,3731,3241,622224
Vaud 1554115,29510,8889,54613,2572,154
Valais 1689150,60615,44715,01418,7201,977
Zug 61342,5354,5154,8025,8811,413
Zurich 113991,59813,60813,17417,2383,624
All cantons 31.12.20202318241,935,790196,837184,579240,65134,616
All cantons 31.12.20192358471,909,233190,496171,699225,26733,490
1 Raiffeisen banks and branches of Raiffeisen Switzerland
2 Receivables from clients and mortgage receivables (net values after deducting value adjustments)
3 Amounts due in respect of customer deposits and cash bonds

Raiffeisen Switzerland

The Raiffeisen banks own 100% of Raiffeisen Switzerland. Raiffeisen Switzerland is a cooperative. Any bank with a cooperative structure that recognises the model articles of association of Raiffeisen banks and the Articles of Association and regulations of Raiffeisen Switzerland can join.

Raiffeisen Switzerland bears responsibility for the Raiffeisen Group’s business policy and strategy, and acts as a centre of competence for the entire Group. Its responsibilities include risk controlling, central bank functions (monetary settlement, liquidity maintenance and refinancing), interbank business and securities trading. Raiffeisen Switzerland also informs, advises and supports the Raiffeisen banks in management, marketing, business, information technology, training, human resources and legal services. In addition, it represents Raiffeisen’s national and international interests. The six branches (St.Gallen, Berne, Basel, Winterthur, Zurich and Thalwil) have a total of 16 locations. They are managed directly by Raiffeisen Switzerland and are involved in client business.

Regional unions

The Raiffeisen banks are grouped into 21 regional unions organised as associations. The unions act as links between Raiffeisen Switzerland and the individual Raiffeisen banks. The duties of the regional unions include coordinating regional advertising activities, holding training events for the Raiffeisen banks, and safeguarding and representing the interests of the Raiffeisen banks in dealings with the cantonal business associations and authorities.

Regional unions

ChairNumber of member banks
German-speaking Switzerland: 14 unions
Aargauer Verband der RaiffeisenbankenStefan Köchli, Bremgarten22
Berner Verband der RaiffeisenbankenRolf Mani, Därstetten16
Bündner Verband der RaiffeisenbankenPetra Kamer, Igis7
Deutschfreiburger Verband der RaiffeisenbankenAldo Greca, Giffers5
Regionalverband Luzern, Ob- und NidwaldenKurt Sidler-Stalder, Ebikon18
Oberwalliser Verband der RaiffeisenbankenKarlheinz Fux, St.Niklaus6
Raiffeisenverband NordwestschweizFredi Zwahlen, Rickenbach10
Raiffeisenverband Zürich und SchaffhausenRené Holenstein, Dietikon8
Schwyzer Verband der RaiffeisenbankenReto Purtschert, Küssnacht am Rigi5
Solothurner Verband der RaiffeisenbankenSilvio Bertini, Bettlach13
St. Galler Verband der RaiffeisenbankenMarcel Helfenberger, Lömmenschwil31
Thurgauer Verband der RaiffeisenbankenReto Inauen, Frauenfeld15
Urner Verband der RaiffeisenbankenRolf Infanger, Erstfeld2
Zuger Verband der RaiffeisenbankenDr. Michael Iten, Oberägeri6
French-speaking Switzerland: 6 unions
Fédération des Banques Raiffeisen de Fribourg romandChristian Gapany, Morlon5
Fédération genevoise des Banques RaiffeisenThomas Foehn, Meyrin / Hervé Broch, Ursy5
Fédération jurassienne des Banques RaiffeisenDidier Nicoulin, Porrentruy6
Fédération neuchâteloise des Banques RaiffeisenLaurent Risse, Neuchâtel2
Fédération des Banques Raiffeisen du Valais romandEmmanuel Troillet, Martigny10
Fédération vaudoise des Banques RaiffeisenPhilippe Widmer, Yverdon-les-Bains15
Italian-speaking Switzerland: 1 union
Federazione Raiffeisen del Ticino e MoesanoMauro Cavadini, Riva San Vitale18

Group companies

Group companies are defined as all majority interests with more than 50% of the voting capital. The key fully-consolidated Group companies and the shareholdings valued according to the equity method are listed in note 7 of the consolidated annual financial statements (companies in which the bank holds a permanent direct or indirect significant participation). Raiffeisen Group companies have no cross-shareholdings. The following diagram shows the consolidated companies.

Group companies

Raiffeisen banksBanking businessCooperative members
Mainly retail business
Traditional savings and mortgage business
Corporate clients business
Payment services
Asset management and investment activity
Securities trading
Consumer goods leasing
Raiffeisen SwitzerlandBusiness policy/strategy and centre of competence for the Raiffeisen GroupRaiffeisen banks
Risk management and consolidated monitoring
Ensuring central bank functions (monetary settlement, liquidity and refinancing)
Banking business (mainly interbank business and securities trading)
Running of branches
Informs, advises and supports the Raiffeisen banks especially in the areas of
management, marketing, business, asset management and investment activity,
information technology,training, human resources and legal services
KMU Capital Holding AGHolding companyRaiffeisen Switzerland (60%)1
Raiffeisen Unternehmerzentrum AGAdvisory services for SMEsRaiffeisen Switzerland
Raiffeisen Switzerland B.V. AmsterdamFinancial servicesRaiffeisen Switzerland
Raiffeisen Immo LtdBrokering and advisory services for the sale and purchase of real estateRaiffeisen Switzerland
RAInetworks Pte. LtdPurchasing of software licencesRaiffeisen Switzerland
Business Brokers LtdManagement consultingRaiffeisen Switzerland
Valyo LtdDevelopment and operation of platformsRaiffeisen Switzerland
1 Raiffeisen Switzerland lays claim to 100% of the shares in KMU Capital Holding AG (see footnote 4 in note 7 of the consolidated annual financial statements).